Navagraha Pooja and Remedies to reduce negative effects of 9 Planets

Estimated reading time: 5 minutes

You can perform Navagraha Pooja at home to remove all negative effects of the nine Grahas, to improve the quality of your personal and your professional life, to gain showers of blessings of the Navagrahas or the nine planets, to keep away bad luck and misfortune, and to attain salvation or Moksha. The Navagrahas are the nine major planets. They are considered to play a major role in deciding the destiny of man. The Navagraha derived from the Sanskrit words and Nava means nine, Graha means planet. The Navagraha Gods are Surya(Sun), Chandra(Moon), Mangal(Mars), Budha(Mercury), Guru(Jupiter), Shukra(Venus), Shani(Saturn), Rahu and Ketu. The Lords of these planets are named after the planets themselves and they are worshipped (Navagrah Puja) in almost every aspect of Hinduism from a simple puja to an elaborate yagna or wedding. Worship of these deities brings forth blessings in the form of protection and success in various undertakings.

Benefits / Significance of Navagraha Pooja:

Planets are highly influential divine entities, and propitiating them can save us from harm and do us good. The Navagraha Pooja can obtain the protection and blessings of the planets. This can help remove negativities and add positive vibrations in life.

Benefits of each planet:

  • Worship of the Sun(Surya) promotes strength and courage, dominance over enemies, success and renown, health and prosperity, and relief from chronic diseases.
  • Worship of the Moon(Chandra) is immensely beneficial for mental peace, charming personality, excellent control over emotions, wealth, fame, and success in life.
  • Worship of Mars(Mangal) offers magnificent health, wealth, power, and prosperity in life and alleviates the chances of accidents, robberies, fatal attacks, and imprisonment.
  • Worship of Mercury(Budha) grants wisdom, commercial success and growth, wealth, relief from diseases related to the nervous system and body functions.
  • Worship of Jupiter(Guru) purifies negative and bad emotions and gives virtuous strength and valour. Other things boosted by this puja are health and longevity, high education and philosophical skills, wealth and fortune, progeny related blessings, and religious tendencies.
  • Worship of Venus(Shukra) blesses good and strong love and relationships, the longevity of life, wealth and affluence, advancement in education and art, eminence in media. lovely children, and well-rounded domestic happiness.
  • Worship of Saturn(Shani) promotes mental peace, health and happiness, and prosperity, and is very instrumental for reducing the intensity of hardship caused by adversities.
  • Worship of Rahu(Dragon’s Head) offers longevity of life, enhancement of power, deep and discerning understanding of things, and high social reputation.
  • Worship of Ketu(Dragon’s Tail) promotes health, wealth, luck, domestic happiness, and well-rounded prosperity of the devotee, and reduces the chances of loss of property and death caused by poisonous substances.

When to perform:

You can start Navagraha Pooja on any day but should complete chanting of all Beej mantras within 40 days.

How to Perform:

  • Perform Navagraha Pooja to start the ritual.
  • Recite the Stotras on each day of the week as given below.
  • Donate items as suggested below.
  • Complete chanting of Beej Mantras as specified in the Mantras section.
  • Visit Navagraha temple when possible.
  • Perform Puja and Havan to complete.

On Sunday :

Recite the soorya stotra: Java kusuma sankasam kashyapeyam mahadutim Tamorim Sarva paapghnam pranatosmi Divakaram

Donate : Wheat, or sugar candy

On Monday :

Recite the Chandra stotra: Dadhi Shankha tushaarabham ksheero darnava sambhavam Namaami shashinam somam shambhor mukuta bhushanam

Donate : Rice

On Tuesday: Recite the Mangala stotra: Dharani garbha sambhutam vidyut kanti samaprabham Kumaram shakti hastam tam mangalam pranamamyaham.

Donate: Masoor dal( red lentils)

On Wednesday:

Recite the Budha stotra: Priyangu Kalika Shyaamam Roopena Pratimam Budham Soumyam Soumya gunopetam tam Budham Pranamamyaham.

Donate: Udad Dal

On Thursday:

1. Recite the Guru stotra: Devanam cha rishinam cha Gurum kaanchan SannibhaamBuddhi bhutam Trilokesham tam namaami Brihaspatim.

Donate: turmeric or sugar

2. Recite the Ketu stotra: Palasha pushpa sankaasham taraka graha mastakam Roudram roudratmakam ghoram tam ketum Pranamamyaham.

Donate: Black mustard seeds

On Friday:

Recite the Shukra stotra: Hima kunda mrinalaabham daityanam paramam gurumSarv shastra pravaktaram bhargavem pranamamyaham

Donate : Clothes or dairy cream or curd to a lady.

On Saturday:

1. Recite the Shani stotra: Nelanjan samabhasam ravi putram yamagrajamChaaya martand sambhutam tam namami shanaischaram

Donate – black til (sesame seeds).

2. Recite the Rahu stotra: Ardha Kaayam maha veryam chandraditya vimardhanam Simhika garbha sambhutam tam rahum pranamamyaham.

Donate: Udad dal or coconut.

Beej Mantra of all Nine planets (Navagraha) – नौ ग्रहों के बीज मंत्र

Navgraha mantras are powerful utterances that can help invite the blessings of the nine planets for the benefit of the chanters.

Common Navgraha Mantra “Adityaya Somaya Mangalaya BhudayachaGuru Shukra Shanibhyascha Rahave Ketave Namaha”

Meaning: This mantra addresses all the nine planets of astrology namely Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn, Rahu and Ketu and seeks their blessings for the successful completion of tasks.

सूर्य मंत्र – ॐ ह्रां ह्रीं ह्रौं सः सूर्याय नमः ॥ Sun Mantra – Aum hraan hreen hron seh Suryay Namah This mantra should be chanted for 7000 times within 40 days

चंद्र मंत्र – ॐ श्रां श्रीं श्रौं सः चंद्राय नमः Moon Mantra – Aum Shran Shrin Shron seh Chandraye Namah This mantra should be chanted for 11000 times within 40 days

मंगल मंत्र – ॐ क्रां क्रीं क्रौं सः भौमाय नमः Mars Mantra – Aum Kran Krin Kron seh Bhaumaaye Namah This mantra should be chanted for 10000 times within 40 days

बुध मंत्र – ॐ ब्रां ब्रीं ब्रौं सः बुधाय नमः ॥ Budh Mantra – Aum Bran Brin Bron seh Budhaye Namah This mantra should be chanted for 9000 times within 40 days

गुरु मंत्र – ॐ ग्रां ग्रीं ग्रौं सः गुरूवे नमः ॥ Jupiter (Guru) Mantra – Aum Gran Grin Gron seh Guruve Namah This mantra should be chanted for 19000 times within 40 days

शुक्र मंत्र – ॐ द्रां द्रीं द्रौं सः शुक्राय नमः ॥ Venus (Shukra) Mantra – Aum Dran Drin Dron Seh Shukraye Namah This mantra should be chanted for 16000 times within 40 days

शनि मंत्र – ॐ प्रां प्रीं प्रौं सः शनैश्चराय नमः॥ Saturn (Shani) Mantra – Aum Pram Prim Pron seh Shanicharaye Namah This mantra should be chanted for 23000 times within 40 days

राहू मंत्र ॐ भ्रां भ्रीं भ्रौं सः राहवे नमः॥ Rahu Mantra – Aum Bhran Bhrin Bhron seh Rahve Namah This mantra should be chanted for 18000 times within 40 days

केतु मंत्र ॐ स्रां स्रीं स्रौं सः केतवे नमः॥ Ketu Mantra – Aum Sran Srin Sron seh Ketve Namah This mantra should be chanted for 17000 times within 40 days

Useful links about Navagraha and remedies: